Trust and Horses (Part 1)

Right now, we have only one kid’s horse.  Now, that’s a problem when there is four of us kids who are able to ride.  (Note- our other horse that we kids can ride is going to have a foal this next March, so we can’t ride her right now).

So, during the summer, we kind of started looking for another horse.  But, as it started getting closer to Fall (When we needed horses for roundup and trailing cows down from the mountains), we started looking more seriously.

My dad finally found a nice little mare a few weeks ago.  When my dad, my younger sister, and I went to look at her and try her out, we got really excited.  She was a really pretty white horse that had brown splotches on her face and down her neck.  We tried out the mare ( Whose name was Susan).  She was super fun to ride, and responded well to whatever you asked her to do.  Susan was perfect!  She could babysit the younger kids, but she also had some get up and go for us older kids.  With much excitement, we bought the horse and brought her home.

For the next week, my younger sister rode Susan every day, spending hours with the mare.  She fell in love with the horse instantly.

Seven days after getting Susan, dad went out to feed her and came back to the house saying she wasn’t feeling good.  He called the vet, who said she would come look at Susan.  But, she died before the vet got here, and would have died regardless.  It was heartbreaking, especially for my sister, who had spent hours upon hours with the horse.  It took me a few minutes to get over the fact.  I wondered why God let us get the horse and then let her die a week after we got her.  But, after I calmed down and let the whole truth sink in, I remembered that God was in control and that we may never understand why everything happens.  Our job is just to trust in God, and He is in control of the rest! With that in mind, I felt better.  But, there was still the disappointment over losing Susan.  There was also the fact that we still needed another horse; roundup was coming up October 8th.  So, with that in mind, we started shopping again.  I looked at about every eligible ranch horse on Craigslist.  But, I still couldn’t find a horse.  I finally just decided that I was going to have to settle for the fact that I was going to stay home from roundup.  We started praying, with the hopes of finding a horse.

About two days ago, around a week before roundup, my mom was talking to her mom and dad (my grandma and grandpa), who said that my uncle had a couple of horses for sale.  We were so excited!  Dad called my uncle, and a few minutes later, told us we were going to go get the horses.  He also said that they both were from 10-13 years of age, and they would work for us kids.  I also need to mention that my aunt and uncle live about eight hours from us!  So my dad made plans for us to go get the horses this weekend.  Yes, God answered our prayer, not with just one horse, but two!  I still don’t understand why Susan died; I probably never will.  But God knows!  And he is very trustworthy!  So I just want to encourage all of you who are reading this.  No matter what happens in your life, whether it’s losing a pet, someone close to you, or any other trials in your life, trust God and leave the rest up to Him!

I will keep all readers updated on what’s going on with the two horses.  I will post some pics after we get them.  God Bless!

Britt

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and He will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5

One thought on “Trust and Horses (Part 1)

  1. I’m so sorry about what happened to Susan:( She sounded like such a sweet mare, but I’m glad you found two other great horses. Like the bible says, Trust in the Lord and he will be a lamp unto your feet.
    Donnysfriend

    Like

Leave a Reply

