God’s Power, Standing Firm, and Daniel

IMG_3449When you looked at the name of this post you probably wondered why I named it God’s Power, Standing Firm and Daniel. Well, don’t worry; you will find out soon enough.

For my devotions and Bible time each day, mom gave me an in-depth inductive study for teens for the book of Daniel (from Precept Ministries International).  I took the devotional, not the most excited.  I had read the book of Daniel lots of times and knew all the stories.  But, as I started the study and started reading through Daniel, I started to see more than stories; I saw God working through a normal human being like you or me!  Right now, in the study, they’re having me go really in-depth in chapter 1 of Daniel.  When I first started reading, I had the mind-set that I already knew all the stories… Daniel getting thrown into a lion’s den and his three friends getting thrown into the fiery furnace.  I’ve heard those stories since I was a little girl.  But, today, as I looked at chapter 1 of Daniel, I saw it with new eyes.  What I first saw was the amazing power of God.  If you look at the first two verses of Daniel, chapter one, it says:

In the third year reign of Jehoiakim king of Judah, Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon came to Jerusalem and besieged it.  And the Lord delivered Jehoiakim king of Judah into his hands.  

There’s more to verse two but, I’m going to stop there because the point I want to get across is in the first part of the verse.  What is the point I want to make?  I want to show you that God has power over everything!  How? Well look at verse one and the first part of verse two.  It says:

…king Nebuchadnezzar came and besieged Jerusalem.  But it also says:

God delivered Jerusalem into the hands of Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon.  That means God had power over what the outcome was.   That just seems really amazing to me!  But there’s more! It says in verse nine of chapter one:

Now God had caused the official to show favor and compassion to Daniel.

Once again this verse shows the power of God.  How? Verse nine says that God caused the official to show favor and compassion to Daniel.

The second thing I noticed was Daniel’s strong faith and how he stood firm for what he believed.  When the king tried to get him, and his three friends Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego to eat food sacrificed to their false gods, they refused to eat.  Instead, they asked to eat vegetables and water for ten days and see if them, or the other young men in the king’s service were stronger.  Because Daniel and his three friends stood firm and did what was right, God blessed them, and at the end of the ten days the four young men looked healthier and more nourished than the other young men.  Now this may not seem that impressive to you but, if you didn’t already know, Daniel at the time, would have been only around fourteen or fifteen! Now mix that with the fact that he was in the service of the king, so that means that there were probably some pretty big consequences for not obeying what they were ordered to do.  Daniel would have been pretty close to the age I am now when this all happened, and it made me wonder if I would do the same thing?  Under such pressure, would I do what was right no matter the consequences?  It really made me think about the strength of my relationship with the Lord.  Would I stand up for my God no matter what?  I was really challenged when I thought about all of this.

So, my challenge to you is to read all twelve chapters of Daniel and dig deep.  Some things are really confusing, but ask the Lord to help you understand, and He will!  Please let me know in the comments if you’re up for this challenge! I would really like to hear from you! God Bless!

Britt

5 thoughts on “God’s Power, Standing Firm, and Daniel

Leave a Reply

