Posted in Ranching

Favorite Ranch Pics From 2016

I decided that in memory of 2016, I would show my favorite pictures around the ranch that I took last year.  Some are my favorite because they remind me of good memories, or just because I really like the pic.  I think all, if not most of the pics I have shown at some point in a post.  So, here we go!

                             This was our buddy steer from last year’s 4-h year.  I have always liked this photo for some reason.  I think it is because I am just really partial to cows.  

image

 

More cows.  Dad took this picture last week.  He was explaining to me the other day how important that it is that the snow is sitting on top of the cows instead of melting.  That means they are staying warm.  

img_0007img_0008

 

This is a picture of a first calver from last year.  This photo was taken last calving season.  

cropped-image3.jpeg

Stran is our little fisherman.  I have to be honest though and say that I’m not sure if this pic was taken the end of 2015 or the beginning of 2016.  But I just HAD to include it. 

IMG_4412

Here is a picture for memories sake.  One of our friends (Jacelyn) came over for a week last year during calving season.  We did some night calving with Colton, and were dad’s shadows through the course of the week!  What fun times!

image

Our mare Sammy had a foal last March.  His name is Canelo.  Some of you readers may know who he is. 🙂

The day he was born

img_0338-1

Eight months later.  Man, has he grown!

img_1757-1

Dad going through calves on his horse.  He’s looking for any sick ones.

IMG_0502

This poor cows hair-do is thanks to T and Jacelyn.  Talk about bad hair day! 🙂image

One of my favorite sunset photos of 2016

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the day we first got Tippy.  She has been a great pup!

img_1162

I LOVE this photo of T, at Rodeo Bible Camp!  

r15

And, an evening playing on the hay bales.

Tippy

img_1483

Natalie 

img_1479

I saved my favorite photo for last!  This picture was taken when Canelo was a month or two old.

img_0465

 

Written by: britt

 

Posted in Ranching

The Beginning of 2017, Ranch Happenings

It is now 2017!  How exciting!  I now will have to remember to write 2017 instead of 2016 every time I write the date down.  2016 flew by.

What will be going on at the ranch at the beginning of 2017?

We started feeding cows hay instead of letting them graze.  It is that time of year.

Horses are also getting fed.

Dad took these two pictures feeding the horses early in the morning

img_0061

Canelo decided to come and say hi 

img_0057

We got our 4-h steers picked out and will take them to 4-h steer weigh-in January 7th.  T named her steer Tubby and I named mine Larry Jr.  Colton hasn’t named his yet.  The buddy steer is actually the brother of Colton’s 4-h calf from last year (who, if I may brag, got Reserve Champion market).

Here is Colton with his  last year’s steer.  This is the buddy steer’s brother.

Colton steer

The first calvers are going to start calving  the end of January.  The main bunch of cows will start calving somewhere around February 6th-8th.  I always like the calving season.

The big news right now is the fact that mom is having a baby!  We are all super excited!  In case anybody is wondering, it will be baby number seven!  The baby can be born anytime, so we are all trying to wait patiently for him or her to arrive.

As I have said in the last post, it has been a little chilly out.  It is starting to feel a lot like winter after a really warm November.  Hopefully, calving season will be a little warmer than a few of the weeks have been lately.

The shop is going well so far.  They are now putting up the metal.

Colton and Joe working on the roof

img_0023

      They have lots of the metal put up now.  It is going really well!img_0035

And, that is all I can think of to update you guys on the beginnings of 2017 here at the ranch.  Happy New Year!

Written by:britt